top of page
  • Russell The Bookworm

Review: Sculpting David by Chadi Nassar

Published: December 2016

Pages: 143

Synopsis: “Following your heart may not lead you where you expect it, but is it worth the journey?

“It is my favorite word, it is my favorite question. I always want to know why.”

David, a trust fund baby, has gone through the biggest heartbreak of his life. He is successful, spontaneous, and generally liked, yet he cannot hold onto his one true love. Trodding down a street one day, David is bumped on the shoulder. When he turns around, the individual is staring at him with the crispest blue eyes he had ever seen. Jolted from his broken heart and thrown into a world of love so different from what he has known, David ventures on a journey of self-discovery taking him across the world and through all realms of emotions.”

Rating: ***

 

I received a free copy of Sculpting David from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I’ll be honest, this is a difficult one for me to review and that is more to do with me and my reading preferences than the writing.

The first thing that struck me is that David, in some form, is a depressive. This is a condition that myself and many other people will be able to relate to, which immediately made David an authentic character.

For me, there wasn’t enough going on. I personally didn’t feel that the plot was forward moving enough, and this is not a criticism at all, some authors prefer to write in this manner when their novels are more theoretical or prose based. This is the category I would put Sculpting David into. There are plenty of readers out there who would appreciate Sculpting David more than I was able to.

This being said, and my very ‘on the fence’ review of 3 starts out of 5, I would be interested in reading other works by Chadi Nassar.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Review: Flare Up by Gary Beck

Published: 22 March 2019 Stars /5: 4 Review: Flare Up follows Terry and Ange (mainly Terry who is an art appraiser caught up in the hedonistic money and status lifestyle). I was initially confused as

Review: Tribal by Robert Everhart

Published: March 2018 Synopsis: “Bryant Williams lives for his family. But when a tragic sailing adventure strands them on an island of people exploited by a demented tyrant, living will be the least

bottom of page