top of page
  • Russell The Bookworm

Review: The Watchmaker's Daughter by C.J. Archer


Published: June 2016

Pages: 380

Synopsis: “India Steele is desperate. Her father is dead, her fiancé took her inheritance, and no one will employ her, despite years working for her watchmaker father. Indeed, the other London watchmakers seem frightened of her. Alone, poor, and at the end of her tether, India takes employment with the only person who'll accept her - an enigmatic and mysterious man from America. A man who possesses a strange watch that rejuvenates him when he's ill.

Matthew Glass must find a particular watchmaker, but he won't tell India why any old one won't do. Nor will he tell her what he does back home, and how he can afford to stay in a house in one of London's best streets. So when she reads about an American outlaw known as the Dark Rider arriving in England, she suspects Mr. Glass is the fugitive. When danger comes to their door, she's certain of it. But if she notifies the authorities, she'll find herself unemployed and homeless again - and she will have betrayed the man who saved her life.”

Rating: *****

 

The Watchmaker’s Daughter was a book I came across completely by accident thanks to Amazon. It was free at the time of my purchase and I am so pleased it was, as I probably wouldn’t have bought it otherwise.

I tried to describe The Watchmaker’s Daughter to my Mum, but don’t think I did it any justice at all. It was along the lines of ‘a girl goes into her late Father’s watch making shop which is now run by her former fiancée and confronts him in front of a potential customer. Turns out the customer is an American who is looking for a mysterious watchmaker who made him a watch years ago. He employs the girl to help him and I think there’s something magical going on somewhere.’ See, doesn’t do it justice as The Watchmaker’s Daughter is one of the best books I have read this year!

I think the author is laying the foundation for a romance between India and Matt, which would be fitting and add an interesting element to the plot but I was secretly hoping for something between India and Willie. I am hoping Willie is developed into a strong LGBT character, with or without a relationship with India.

Well written with some good world building, however there wasn’t any indication of a time period. The Queen and Prince Consort was mentioned which I interpreted as Queen Victoria and Albert was couldn’t be 100% sure.

I was quite disappointed with the ending as it just stopped and my kindle told me I was only 83% of the way through. The remainder of the book was information about C.J. Archer’s other works. I must admit, I did feel a little cheated.

I have already bought the next book in the series and plan on reading other series also by C.J. Archer.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Review: Flare Up by Gary Beck

Published: 22 March 2019 Stars /5: 4 Review: Flare Up follows Terry and Ange (mainly Terry who is an art appraiser caught up in the hedonistic money and status lifestyle). I was initially confused as

Review: Tribal by Robert Everhart

Published: March 2018 Synopsis: “Bryant Williams lives for his family. But when a tragic sailing adventure strands them on an island of people exploited by a demented tyrant, living will be the least

bottom of page