top of page
  • Russell The Bookworm

Review: The NecroNomNomNomicon: Cookbook of the Dead by Felix Galvan


Published: June 2015

Synopsis: “The Harrison family is dragged into the bizarre world of the supernatural as they become the pawns of the Cookbook of the Dead, in its bid to bring on its supernaturally flavored apocalypse. Boy, the family dog struggles to keep his family out of the Frying pan AND the fire as he defeats the Cookbook's minions along the way.”

Rating: ****

I received a free copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

I REALLY enjoyed this. The prologue was full of action that left you intrigued and slightly confused (an interesting mix). The first chapter then went back into the past and the build up to the prologue was explored.

The characters were three dimensional, authentic and brilliantly written. I was unsure for a long time about Jason’s age and from his relationship with his Mum, I guessed he was an early teen. It wasn’t until a few things were said later in the book I realised that he was about 17. This did come as a bit of a surprise to me, so I felt his character could have been written as a bit more mature from the beginning. There were also odd moments when I didn’t feel the dialogue felt authentic, it was stilted on occasions. However, I thought the snippets from Boy's point of view were so fitting to a dog, you could really imagine your dog thinking them.

This was a really interesting idea that bought to mind the old Goosebumps books by R.L. Stine. I would definitely read more books by Felix Galvan.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Review: Flare Up by Gary Beck

Published: 22 March 2019 Stars /5: 4 Review: Flare Up follows Terry and Ange (mainly Terry who is an art appraiser caught up in the hedonistic money and status lifestyle). I was initially confused as

Review: Tribal by Robert Everhart

Published: March 2018 Synopsis: “Bryant Williams lives for his family. But when a tragic sailing adventure strands them on an island of people exploited by a demented tyrant, living will be the least

bottom of page